2014 Finalists

Anderson1 - Copy

In January 2014, middle school classrooms around the world viewed and judged top 10 video abstracts submitted to the Ocean 180 Video Challenge, listed below. The "Wave 2" judging team was made up of over 30,000 middle school students in over 1,800 schools throughout the US, Australia, Aruba, Bahamas, Boliva, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Greece, Israel, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Turkey. These students were responsible for selecting the top 3 video abstracts.

Winners were announced February 25th at the 2014 Ocean Sciences Meeting in Honoloulu, HI and can be found here.

2014 Ocean 180 Video Challenge Finalists

Neil Hammerschlag, University of Miami
Gareth Burghes, Lagomorph Films
Michael Brennan, Alex DeCiccio, and Dwight Coleman, University of Rhode Island
Lonny Lundsten, Shannon Johnson, and David Clague, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
Gregor Calliet, Moss Landing Marine Laboratories 
Andrew DeVogalaere, Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary
Laurence Yeung, University of California, Los Angeles
Meg Rosenburg, California Institute of Technology
Ann Gregory and J. Cesar Ignacio Espinoza, University of Arizona
Joseph Pawlik, University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Lonny Lundsten, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
Welton Lee, California Academy of Sciences
Bill Austin, Khoyatan Marine Laboratory
Henry Reiswig, University of Victoria
Kyra Schlining, Linda Kuhnz, Nancy Jacobsen Stout, Susan von Thun, Brian Schlining, Lonny Lundsten, Judith Connor, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
Matthew Alford, University of Washington
Jennifer Isenhart, Wide Eye Productions
Win Watson, Liz Morrissey, and Nate Copp, University of New Hampshire

By the Numbers

Over 40,000 students in 50 US states, the US Virgin Islands, and 25 countries participated as judges in the 2016 Ocean 180 Video Challenge.