2015 Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 Ocean 180 Video Challenge!
The top entries were selected by 37,795 middle school students in over 1,600 classrooms throughout 21 countries, all 50 U.S. states, and the US Virgin Islands. These students were responsible for critiquing and evaluating the ten finalists based on their creativity, message, and educational value. 
Four video abstracts were honored in the 2015 Challenge for excellence in science communication, with two entries awarded first place prizes. These two winners were named the top entry in their submission category, with Category 1 reserved for entries created by amateur teams and Category 2 for entries created with professional film making assistance.
1st Place (Category 1)
Patrick Rynne, University of Miami
Fiona Graham, University of Miami/ Waterlust
Ronald Brouwer, Ad Reniers, and Matthieu de Schipper, Delft University
Jamie MacMahan, Naval Postgraduate School
Laura Bracken, University of Miami/ CARTHE
1st Place (Category 2)
Kelly JaakkolaEmily Guarino, Mandy Rodriguez, and the Visual
Communication Staff, Dolphin Research Center 
Claire Simeone, The Marine Mammal Center
3rd Place
Charles Waters, University of Auckland, Institute of Marine Science
Scott Ewing
Richard Story, Cook Islands Ministry of Marine Resources
Mark J. Costello, University of Auckland
Charley Mug 2

By the Numbers

Over 40,000 students in 50 US states, the US Virgin Islands, and 25 countries participated as judges in the 2016 Ocean 180 Video Challenge.